Principal Investigator


Davide Ruggero, PhD

Professor, Department of Urology and Cellular & Molecular Pharmacology

Helen Diller Family Endowed Chair in Basic Cancer Research

[email protected]


Davide Ruggero, PhD joined UCSF in July 2007 from the Fox Chase Cancer Center in Philadelphia where he was an Assistant Professor in the Department of Human Genetics. Davide completed five years of post-doctoral training in molecular oncology and cancer genetics at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York. His undergraduate education and early training were completed at the University of Rome in Italy where he earned a BS cum laude in Biology in 1994 and a PhD in Molecular and Cellular Biology in 1998.

Davide has received noteworthy funding to support his groundbreaking cancer research.  In 1994, as a graduate student, he received an Enichem Society fellowship. While initiating his post-doctoral research he was awarded an American-Italian Cancer Foundation fellowship. As a senior post-doctoral fellow Davide was one of two candidates, out of more than four hundred, to receive Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center’s Outstanding Research Fellow Award. In 2005 he received the prestigious V-Scholar Foundation’s Award for Cancer Research for his work on deregulations in protein synthesis during lymphomagenesis. The V-Scholar Foundation annually provides grant support to eighteen of the nation’s most brilliant young researchers. Most recently, Davide is a recipient of the 2019 ACS Professorship Award and the R35 Outstanding Investigator Award.


Postdoctoral Fellows


Hao Nguyen, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor in Residence

Duygu Kuzuoglu-Öztürk, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow

Haojun Yang, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow


Joanna Kovalski, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow

Yangpeiwei Huang, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow

Andrew Levine, MD, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow


Nimmy Mohan, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow

Adrianna Dabrowska, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow

Ashish Noronha, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow


Graduate Students



Kenya Bonitto

PhD Student

Research Associates


Lingru Xue, M.S.

Associate Specialist

Goksu Ceyhan, M.S.

Junior Specialist

Andrea Zingaro, M.S.

Junior Specialist


Emma Figueredo

Junior Specialist



 Nathan Futoran

Junior Specialist